top of page

StyleKorean Try Me Review Me With Neogen's Dermalogy Line

Neogen is a brand that I have heard many great things about but never got the chance to try until now-- I was lucky enough to receive five of Neogen's best selling products in their Dermalogy Line from StyleKorean's Try Me Review Me.

The Dermalogy line brings the latest in derma-ceutical research and consists of many product lines, each that was carefully developed for distinct skin concerns. Neogen Dermalogy offers products that will help you customize your skincare regimen with focus on your individual preference and specific concerns.

I have only had these products for a little under 2 weeks now & am on a time crunch to get these posted, so these will be first impressions based reviews.

The products I received are:

  • Real Fresh Green Tea Cleansing Stick

  • Real Ferment Micro Essence

  • Real Ferment Micro Serum

  • Canadian Clay Pore Cleanser + Cleansing Brush

  • A-Clear Soothing Clear Spot Patch

Real Fresh Green Tea Cleansing Stick

is an innovative spin on cleansing-- this travel friendly retractable cleansing stick is compact so it's perfect for on the go while traveling. This has been on my wish list for some time now and was actually the winner of the 2017 teen vogue acne awards, so I had very high expectations for this product. It was created by none other than Soko-Glam Co-Founder Charlotte Cho! Made up of 99% naturally derived ingredients, this cleanser has all the ingredients your skin will love.

Key ingredients:

  • Formulated with 13 natural oils including green tea oil, coconut oil, meadowfoam seed oil, evening primrose oil, lemon peel oil, etc.

  • Also contains real green tea leaves for exfoliation.

This cleanser has a low ph similar to skin, making it a low irritation cleanser suitable for even those with sensitive skin. The 13 natural oils work to effectively break down makeup and residue while ensuring the skin stays hydrated and not overly cleansed or stripped.

What makes this cleanser so unique(other than the fact that it is in a stick form) is it has real bits of green tea leaves infused throughout to gently exfoliate the skin without being too abrasive. It has a light floral scent which isn't the typical green tea scent that I'm accustomed to-- the aroma is like a mix of flowers and green tea, which I find pleasant and not overbearing. There's an aromatherapeutic quality to it which makes the experience very enjoyable and relaxing.

This product truly makes the cleansing process a breeze-- simply apply it on damp skin and massage it in. Once the water mixes with the cleanser it begins to create a nice lightweight lather that feels very refreshing! If you're a hygiene freak like me you can also apply the cleanser on your palms, add water, and then apply directly to your face.

Thankfully it doesn't leave my skin feeling tight or over-cleansed like some products I have tried, and always leaves my skin feeling smooth and supple. However, if you wear heavy makeup I would definitely advise a second cleanse-- other than that this is a fantastic, easy to use cleanser that I absolutely recommend.

Retails for $22.

Real Ferment Micro Essence

is a first treatment essence which is the base layer of your skincare routine. It is made from 93% naturally fermented ingredients to deliver instant moisture and skin plumping benefits. In case you're wondering what the fermentation process is, it transforms(by adding good bacteria) natural substances in the essence which enables the skin to accept and absorb ingredients more effectively. This product is said to help achieve the coveted "honey skin", which is the ultimate glow up after healthy skin-- focusing on a dewy, glowing complexion.

Key ingredients:

  • Formulated with bifida ferment lysate, saccharomyces ferment filtrate, rice ferment filtrate, & aspergillus ferment.

  • Also contains betula alba juice, green tea extract, sodium hyaluronate, adenosine, & niacinamide.

This essence deeply hydrates and brightens the skin thanks to the high concentrations of fermented ingredients combined with niacinamide. The rice ferment filtrate & bifida ferment filtrate work to give the skin an elastin boost, creating firmer, more supple skin. I am a huge fan of essences in my skincare routine, and considering this is a cult favorite in the k-beauty world, my expectations were incredibly high.

It has a lightweight watery consistency with no viscosity and absorbs quickly. It is very effective at hydrating the skin and leaves my skin silky smooth after every use. I was skeptical about whether or not I could ever achieve honey skin due to how dry and dull my skin is, and wondered if this one product could really produce such results.. However, I couldn't believe my eyes when the product fully absorbed! My skin actually had a natural glow that wasn't oily, wasn't due to leftover product, and my skin's texture looked incredible. This product absolutely made me a believer in honey skin!

Retails for $38.

Real Ferment Micro Serum

is the sequel and matching counterpart to the cult favorite Real Ferment Micro Essence. The fermenting process transforms natural substances in the serum which enables the skin to accept and absorb ingredients more effectively.

This serum was formulated to help achieve the coveted "honey skin", which is the ultimate glow up after healthy skin-- focusing on a dewy, glowing complexion.

Key ingredients:

  • Formulated with 61% fermented ingredients including bifida ferment lysate, saccharomyces ferment filtrate, & rice ferment filtrate.

  • Also contains betula alba juice, aspergillus ferment, niacinamide, green tea leaf extract, centella asiatica extract, hydrolyzed collagen.

This serum delivers a concentrated boost of nutrients and antioxidants to the skin thanks to its high amount of fermented ingredients. The elasticity improving bifida ferment filtrate works to make the skin more plump, supple, and firm while the rice ferment filtrate brightens the complexion and helps give the skin a natural glow.

It has an interesting thick gel-like consistency, and a little goes a long way. Despite its thickness, it manages to maintain a lightweight texture while still being super absorbent and moisturizing. I have very dull, dry skin so I wasn't expecting to achieve the Holy honey skin, but I was absolutely blown away with my results! My skin now has the glow I have always hoped for(without looking or feeling oily) and I owe it all to the Real Ferment duo. The serum works well on its own but combining the two really maximizes results. If you were skeptical of the claims like I was, please give it a chance! You won't regret it, and neither will your skin.

Retails for $38.

Canadian Pore Cleanser

is a unique way of cleansing that I have not quite experienced before. Yes it is a clay cleanser, but it's not your ordinary clay cleanser. It has a very interesting consistency that transforms when mixed with water, bubbling up into a rising foam. I have never had a clay cleanser that bubbles up the way this one does-- I didn't even think it was possible until I tried it for myself. It also came with an ultra soft cleansing brush which makes the whole process much easier.

Key ingredients:

  • Formulated with a blend of carbonated water, Canadian colloidal clay, & kaolin clay.

  • Also contains allantoin, sugarcane extract, & centella asiatica.

This particular cleanser works to eliminate excess sebum, blackheads, makeup, and dead skin cells as well as aids in facial lifting. It nourishes the skin with botanical extracts while cleansing deep into your pores to minimize pore size. The product itself looks very thick and has a rich consistency upon applying, but it's surprisingly lightweight and applies smoothly. It does tingle when applied on the skin, which is something I personally love. There is a noticeable floral scent but it dissipates shortly after applying. I absolutely love the brush it came with! It's handmade with approximately 250-500 bristles and is the softest facial brush I have used-- it makes cleansing so smooth, and is so gentle on my sensitive skin.

I tend to leave it on for around 5 minutes to let it fully activate, then damp the cleansing brush with water and begin massaging it into my skin-- this is when the magic happens! The once thick consistency morphs into a lightweight bubbly foam that rejuvenates and refreshes the skin. I have noticed my pores around my nose become less prominent, and my skin always feels smooth and squeaky clean afterwards.

The only downside is it can definitely dry your skin out if you use it too often or if you have dry skin like I do. I'll probably use this once a week for when I want an extra deep cleansing, because it does live up to its claims!

Retails for $27.

A-Clear Soothing Clear Spot Patch

is an overnight spot rescue! Each pack contains 24 patches of two different sizes(12 of each). They are waterproof and easily stick on the skin, and are almost invisible so it's like you're not even wearing them! They are small, comfortable, and super convenient for when you're experiencing pesky breakouts.

Key ingredients:

  • 100% hydrocolloid adhesive patch 0.39mm

These patches work by absorbing excess sebum and secretion from breakouts, as well as prevent scabbing and scarring by creating a moist environment. As an added bonus it acts as a protective sterile barrier from external bacteria and dirt, preventing infection or further irritation. 99% of the acne treatments I have tried dry my already dry skin out, so I was very much looking forward to trying these since they create a different type of environment for the skin.

I have always wanted to try acne patches but never really got around to it, and honestly wasn't sure if they were worth the hype. I have to say I am very pleased with these particular patches! I don't break out very often but when I do, they tend to take a while to heal up-- these clear spot patches have helped greatly reduce the healing time and helped prevent me picking at my blemishes(bad habit, I know).

All you have to do is apply one of the patches onto your blemish, choosing the size that fits best with your current breakout. Press down for 3 seconds to ensure it adheres to the skin properly and leave it on until it turns white, which means all of the secretions have been soaked up. My acne has always unfortunately left scars, but since I have been using these none of my recent blemishes have scarred! I will continue using these and definitely repurchase when I run out.

Retails for $6.

All of these products can be bought from StyleKorean here.

I definitely see why Neogen is one of the most raved about brands in the Korean Beauty industry, and I am so grateful I got to try these out. Special thanks to StyleKorean & Neogen for sending this incredible box my way.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon

© 2019 Chronically Badass Beauty. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page